RSS Feed

A Day In The Life Of A Fish

His name was Wait-And-See. I first got him as a 10 cent feeder fish. He was so cute just swimming around in the tank. A few months later I moved from California to Nevada and he came with me. He survived four hours in the car one day, a night in a motel and another four hours the next day.

He grew and thrived until one day I realized the poor guy was so big he could barely turn around in the triangular one gallon tank. He would swim in circles in one direction all day. What a boring life!

So I got a ten gallon tank.

He grew and thrived more and more! He survived so many other fish. He ate the ghost shrimp that were supposed to be bottom feeders that cleaned the tank.

He got me thinking though, what kind of existence is that? To live in four square walls and swim in circles. They say that goldfish have only a 3 second memory. I hope that is true for their sake. How do they know? Who learned to speak goldfish? Are goldfish found in the wild? If so are they territorial? Because if so how do they remember their territory?

This train of questioning could go on forever, and though I enjoy it I will leave you with just those few. If you know, leave me a comment and explain. Especially how they know Goldfish have a 3 second memory. That would be interesting to know. Or boring. I’m not sure. If its a scientific explanation then just give me a summary.

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

2 responses »

  1. I just looked this up, and it seems that fish have a memory that can last up till five months! So I guess your fish must’ve been restless. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

