RSS Feed

Appreciation

20121218-220543.jpg

Give her of the fruit of her hands,
And let her own works praise her in the gates.
Proverbs 31:31

‘Tis the season to be thankful. We spend this season remembering what is most important in our lives and so I have decided to dedicate this weeks posts to the above verse. Let her own works praise her in the gates. How do we practically do this? Brag on those women in your life who reflect proverbs 31 to you. Don’t worry about if they know you bragged about them or not, it’s not about that, its about their works being known at the gates.

So I am going to practice this today about my mother. She is quite the woman. She has struggled with health issues all my life. Growing up she was often sick and in bed. Now you would think this would mean that my childhood was sad and hard but it wasn’t. My childhood is filled with crazy fun family memories. Why? Because my mom made sure to still have adventures with us kids.

For example, she would let us give her directions home and we would sometimes get hopelessly lost (usually when I gave directions) and we thought it was the most fun ever!

Now looking back I am fairly certain that my parents struggled financially at times. Why do I think this? Logistics. When the world was becoming a duel income world my mom was a stay at home mom. But my mom was a good money manager because we always had food, we always had clothes, we always had all that we needed and we also had many of our wants as well. My parents didn’t spoil us at all but the house didn’t run as if we were hard off. Instead my parents taught us to see our blessings. And we were very blessed.

I could go on but you get the picture. My mom, (and my dad, but he is no where near being a proverbs 31 woman, thank God) is quite the woman who has always lived her life selflessly and been an example of what it means to be a wife and mother who loves God.

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

Leave a Reply

