RSS Feed

Mary

20121214-231226.jpg

She extends her hand to the poor,
Yes, she reaches out her hands to the needy.
Proverbs 31:20

This photo is of two people I greatly admire. On the left is Karina and on the right is Mary. Today I want to tell you about Mary.

Mary is from Guatemala, and while I don’t know much about her childhood I do know how she came to be associated with Remar. Remar is an organization that is located throughout the world and has orphanages, churches, rehabs, and so much more. Mary and Karina both lived next door to Remar and became involved through this.

I do not know when Mary actually joined Remar but she has been there for a while now and, though single and without children of her own, lives a life so very full. She is mother to about 80 orphans. When asked she can tell you each ones full name and information. For those who have moved on or left she can still recall who they are and their story. Why? Because she loves each so dearly.

On a typical day Mary wakes up early to get the kids ready for school. A school in which she is the principal. Once they are ready and school is finished for the day she then turns her attention to running the orphanage. No small feat when the compound houses about 100 people.

She works tirelessly for no pay. Money is handled differently there. It is not a job it is a lifestyle. She has chosen to devote her life to The Lord in this way and she has put her hand to the plow and not looked back. Even in her times of rest and relaxation she is still giving of herself. At the beach watching to make sure none of the children are in danger. At the orphanage handling the different issues brought to her attention with care and love.

And yet, early on in our acquaintance, I remember something so keenly that it still convicts me to this day. Pastor Jose, the pastor over the Remar in El Salvador, and her brother in law, had taught a moving sermon on serving God. That evening as we discussed the mornings sermon Mary got quite thoughtful and said that she felt she should be doing more.

I remember thinking “your life is lived out in service to God and yet you are convicted by this sermon? How much more should I, who life a very selfish life, be convicted by such a sermon?!”

Related Posts:
Karina
Lucy

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

Leave a Reply

