RSS Feed

A Bit of Advice

One of the best bits of wisdom that I have heard is really akin to the old proverb, “you can give a man a fish and feed him for a day or you can teach a man how to fish and feed him for a lifetime.” I could offer you the little bit of wisdom I have and that would be like giving you a fish. But I can tell you how I have acquired the little bit of wisdom I have, which would be a lifelong tool for you (although, you probably already know it, I’m not all that wise).

The first step we went over in my previous post, and that is searching the Scripture. True wisdom is only found in God. But some of the practical ways to learn wisdom in specific areas is to watch others who are succeeding in that area. For example, if you are married or ever want to be married, then find some marriages you admire and learn from that couple. Watch how they interact, how they handle situations. Ask them questions.

I am doing this with writing. I want to be a good writer, I want to one day publish a story, so I read blogs of writers I admire like Daniel Koeker and Zen Scribbles. I also read writing blogs like Christian Mihai and Inked Out Loud.

This is some of the best wisdom because you can learn from other’s successes and mistakes. No matter what the situation is there is nearly always someone who has walked the road before you.

So there you go, that is the limit of my wisdom about wisdom…learn from someone other than me!

Related Posts:
Don’t Be Afraid, But Fear God
Wednesday Wisdom Sitings

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

Leave a Reply

