RSS Feed

Don’t Be Afraid, But Fear God

She opens her mouth with wisdom,
And on her tongue is the law of kindness.
Proverbs 31:26

The purpose of this blog has never been to write about the Spiritual aspect of Proverbs 31, more so the practical aspect. I have always been very practical when it comes to Spiritual matters. Yes I know I need to be more gracious, but HOW do I be more gracious…So I am not going to spend this week’s topic, wisdom, trying to define wisdom but more how to attain wisdom, how to walk it out. In the practical sense.

My own (very slow) journey towards gaining wisdom began when I was a teen and started questioning the hows of wisdom. Sure I wanted to have wisdom but how did one go about getting something that was intangible? That year I was also reading through the Bible in a year and I came across several verses similar to this:

The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom;
A good understanding have all those who do His commandments.
His praise endures forever.
Psalm 111:10

So that is the first step, fearing The Lord, meaning to have respect and awe for God and who He is can bring wisdom. The word fear to me is a reminder in and of itself that God is all powerful and has every ability and every right to condemn me. But He chooses not to. That is a humbling thought. Dwelling and thinking on these things are the beginning of wisdom. Why? Because it puts us in our place and God on the throne.

Related Posts:
Wednesday Wisdom Sitings
A Bit of Advice

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

Leave a Reply

