RSS Feed

WHATEVER!

This is one of my favorite activities to help me take my thoughts captive and get my perspective back where it should be. Step 1 is to read these verses:

Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy – meditate on these things.
Philippians 4:8

The next step is to get a small portable notebook, I used 3×5 cards that are spiral bound. Portable is the key because this is a fun thing to take with you. Though, to be honest, one time I used sheets of paper. But I will explain that more in a moment.

Every few pages write one of the different words above as a header, or title.

Then starting thinking of things that come to mind when you read those words. Don’t worry about getting a lot, just try to get some. This is a working growing project. It is the practice of taking your thoughts captive. Its quite fun. Things don’t always have to be serious either, so long as you have some serious words, have fun with it.

The time I used papers was during a very stressful week at my church and so I typed up the words on sheets of paper and hung them in my office. Everyone who came in had to write something.

It is a fun activity that, though it isn’t specifically on thankfulness, it does help you take your thoughts captive and gets you in the mindset that is more thankful because you are focusing on the true, noble, just, pure, lovely, good report, virtuous, and praiseworthy things in life.

Related Posts:
And Be Thankful
Be Thankful To Him
Wednesday Web Sitings
Thankful, For Better Or For Worse

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

2 responses »

  1. I like the sheets of paper in the office. If you we’re so stressed to feel those things, others could come along side and help you through it. I think that’s a wonderful example of how those in ministry needs us peons to come along side and hold your arms up for you. Love you Bri. Have a happy thanksgiving!

    Reply
    • “Us peons to come alongside you” I am simply a peon too! 🙂 but I am blessed to have those who will come alongside. And I am blessed to be in a work environments where we can do things like this.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

