RSS Feed

Be Thankful to Him

A Song of Praise for the Faithfulness to His People
A Psalm of Thanksgiving.
Make a joyful shout to the Lord, all you lands!
Serve the Lord with gladness;
Come before His presence with singing.
Know that the Lord, He is God;
It is He who has made us, and not we ourselves;*
We are His people and the sheep of His pasture.
Enter into His gates with thanksgiving,
And into His courts with praise.
Be thankful to Him, and bless His name.
For the Lord is good;
His mercy is everlasting,
And His truth endures to all generations.
Psalm 100:1-5

One of my most difficult struggles in my adult life was a time of insecurity I went through. It was a very dark time for me and I felt like my world was spinning out of control. I learned later that it was caused by food allergies and am now able to avoid sinking into that feeling of low desperation. However, while in the midst of this Jesus started working on my heart in this situation. There were a couple of big lessons I learned. The first was that whether you think too low of yourself or think too highly of yourself both are a form of pride. Humility is considering others first so therefore even my own constant worry of if I was good enough, if anyone cared about me, this was a form of pride. The second big lesson was the practical of how to combat this form of pride. And that was a thankful journal.

I stashed several small notebooks throughout my world. One in my office, one in my car, another in my purse another in my house. These notebooks were always within an arms reach. As soon as I felt those thoughts of insecurity creeping in on me I would grab the notebook and start writing. Now I had a couple of rules, the first was I was not allowed to write about the situation. Usually the insecurity stemmed from a specific situation where I felt left out or unloved or something along those lines, but I knew if I wrote out the situation it would just be dwelling on it more. The second rule was that I had to find something, anything at all, to be thankful for. So with those two rules in mind I would write a quick note of thanks to God.

Sometimes the note was for salvation, sometimes it was about the weather, other times it would be about something good that had happened earlier in the day. Regardless I wouldn’t stop writing until I had combated the insecure.

During my lowest point of that season I was writing in the journal quite frequently. And I am thankful I went through that time. I am thankful that God allowed me to work on the spiritual side of the issue before freeing me of the physiological side of it. Why? Because it taught me to be more thankful.

Related Posts:
And Be Thankful
Wednesday Web Sitings
WHATEVER!
Thankful, For Better Or For Worse

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

2 responses »

  1. Just like 1000 Gifts! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing this, it was good.

    Reply
    • 1000 gifts????

      When I tell this story people usually focus on the food allergies. But the thing that changed me the most was getting to the point where I was content and told God “even if I have to continue to fight this every day I will for Your glory.” Though that wasn’t my favorite option I knew I would not allow my mind to send me on that downward spiral again.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

