RSS Feed

And Be Thankful

Therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, put on tender mercies, kindness, humility, meekness, longsuffering; bearing with one another, and forgiving one another, if anyone has a complaint against another; even as Christ forgave you, so you also must do. But above all these things put on love, which is the bond of perfection. And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in one body; and be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom, teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord. And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.
Colossians 3:12-17

We hear it said every year, I have said it and perhaps you have too, “we should be thankful all year long, not just on Thanksgiving!” So this week we are going to take a break from our normal Proverbs 31 practical applications and look at practical ways to create a habit of a thankful heart.

One year for Christmas someone gave me a calendar set. It came with a regular full sized wall calendar, a small purse sized calendar and a mini wall calendar. Now the mini wall calendar is what I used for this but you could use a regular sized wall calendar. I put the calendar by my bed and every night before I went to sleep I took a couple of minutes to think back on my day and consider what I was thankful for. I wrote a few notes in the calendar.

That year we experienced several tragedies. I found that even on those days I had a moment which I could be grateful. It was the hug from a grandfatherly figure, the call from a friend, or simply the fact that Jesus had carried me through the day.

Now you don’t have to wait until next year to start this, start it today. Use your calendar app, grab a journal and simply date it every night, or find that wall calendar that you stuck in the drawer and never hung up this year…

And be thankful!

Related Posts:
Be Thankful To Him
Wednesday Web Sitings
WHATEVER!
Thankful, For Better Or For Worse

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

Leave a Reply

