RSS Feed

Wednesday Web Sitings

It’s time for my favorite day of the week, Wednesday Web Sitings! The first site I want to list is the whole reason I even had the idea to write this week’s theme of writing about money saving tips. This is my sister’s youtube channel. She does a whole show on couponing, and she is really good at it. Giving some great weekly deals!

Playing The Drugstore Game

In my previous post I mentioned some websites I use when I am trying to buy online and save money. I usually open three browser windows and pull up Amazon, eBay, and do a general websearch (if you use google you can hit the shopping button though I find a keeping it on all results gives me a better chance of finding what I need). Nearly I will search for the item in each of these three windows at a time and compare what I can get. If you do enough online ordering it might be worth it to you to get the Amazon Prime membership, which gives you free 2 day shipping for a year. It is a great deal and pays for itself in most cases but if you don’t order online very much I wouldn’t use it. Make sure when buying multiples of one item on Amazon that you are buying from Amazon itself. If it is a third party through Amazon you may end up buying from several different third parties and this can cause shipping nightmares. When I am checking on eBay I always look for the buy it now because it is much easier to compare a bottom line price rather than playing the bidding game. When it comes to bidding, just be careful not to allow yourself to spend more than you normally would. I generally will set a price in my mind (generally less than what I could get it for in the store brand new) and I will stick to that. Be sure when you set your max bid to keep the shipping charges in mind with that. Decide what you want to pay, subtract shipping, and that should be your max bid. Be willing to lose the item. No point in paying full price through eBay and have it shipped if you can walk into a store today and get it for the same amount. When using other websites that you aren’t familiar with or do not know anything about them try doing some research before sending them money. If a deal sounds too good to be true it probably is. If a company is selling an item way under retail prices then its probably a scam and best to avoid it.

I have posted the following links before, but I use them quite often and they fit this week. If you choose to start making your own cleaning products you will need this site:
DIY Natural
This site has been a blast. Most of the items are cheap enough to give it a try. If you don’t like it, its only pennies wasted. But if you like it, its dollars saved.

And I suggest to start with your own laundry soap because you can see quite a lot of savings immediately:
DIY Laundry Soap
To start off you will spend under $10 for a 5 gallon bucket worth of soap and then it is only $1 to refill. Plus the products are kind of start products for other homemade cleaners. I have been making my own laundry soap for over a year now, plus my own dishwashing soap and I am only now about to have to replace my original box of laundry booster and the borax is still about half full. Granted its just me but this gives you an idea of how far these items will go.

And finally for something completely different:
100 Money Saving Tips

Related Posts:
Profitable Savings
Saving Christmas

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

Leave a Reply

