RSS Feed

Inspiration

I had been warned. In fact I had prepared as best as I could for the moment. I read all the blogs I could, I studied, I prepared. But I still hit a slump in week two of NaNoWriMo. I have read many different solutions to slumps, (write a different scene, kill off a character, just write anything until a story sparks again), but in the end for me it was a simple solution. I needed to write the scene I was avoiding. Then the ideas started flowing.

But then something happened that I hadn’t been warned about, I just didn’t want to write. I lost my enthusiasm for about a day or two. I was a day behind from my first slump and I didn’t want NaNo to end for me there, I knew if I didn’t force myself to write I would end up more days behind than I could catch up.

So I made myself sit down and do it.

The theme of my story is a girl who is also doing NaNo, there’s a bit more to the story but I figured it would give me some ideas as the story went along. Completely unintentionally I was going through this slump at the same time that I was writing about my characters slump. I wonder if my character influenced me? I know it wasn’t the other way around because my outline, which I have followed fairly closely, called for a slump.

My story line doesn’t really leave room for killing off a character. But part of the way my character got through her slump was to kill off her main character. We will see how she recovers.

I have been telling people that I am surprised by how much plot I have. But I fear I am running out. I wanted they story to be mostly upbeat and I have hit the climax of change and the rest of the book is supposed to be more positive than negative. But can I really carry that for another 30,000 words? And yes, my character’s fears this week were that she had run out of plot.

It seems I am following my story outline in real life.

I think I see the problem.

Excuse me while I go burn an outline and rewrite one that makes everything all happy little clouds with unicorns flying on sugar coated wings.

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

Leave a Reply

