RSS Feed

Let’s Be Honest

Have you noticed this new thing with the youth of today? They will start a sentence with “Let’s be honest…” and it ends with a tidbit of truth. Sometimes it’s funny (after offering you the last cookie, “let’s be honest…I was going to eat it anyway”), sometimes it is an opening for friends to talk about something serious (“let’s be honest…that really hurt my feelings”), sometimes its just random (“Let’s be honest…ice cream is my favorite”). I like this trend. It is one of the few that I actually have consciously decided to participate in.

So, let’s be honest…there’s a write in tomorrow and I am terrified to go. This is so silly because my ML is really nice. The rest of the group I’m sure is a lot of fun as well. I have thought of quite a few reasons why I shouldn’t go (it is my day off and I really want to spend it in my pajamas and sleeping in…I need to clean tomorrow…ok ok maybe not quite a few reasons, but at least two). But honestly my story needs it. In my story my main character is doing Nano (don’t worry, her story is not about someone doing nano, I wasn’t going to get THAT mirror within a mirror within a mirror within a…) and she is about to attend a write in. And when I say about to I mean that I had to stop writing tonight because I haven’t been to a write in and that’s the next scene.

So I have to go tomorrow to a write in and write about my main character being at a write in (talk about mirror within a mirror). I tried to write it based on some descriptions my co-regional wrimos gave me, but I just can’t do it. So I have to go.

But I don’t want to.

But I do.

Oh let’s be honest, I haven’t a clue what I want.

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

Leave a Reply

