RSS Feed

Almost….Just Almost Quit

Well it is day 5 of Nano, technically day 6 but I haven’t gone to bed yet so it still counts as day 5. I didn’t write yesterday. I ran out of time and umph and really didn’t care. I thought I might quit because I didn’t want to stress out about catching up. After all I am trying to write 2000 words a day in order to be finished prior to going to El Salvador on November 26th. Plus I have not gotten my regular blog posts ahead enough to cover while I am gone and that is part of my goal. Plus, as I mentioned previously, I have had the advice a couple of times not to take on too much in November and over do it. But today I needed to write. I desperately needed to work on the story again.

My characters are all behaving again. In fact a few new characters popped up and have quite surprised me. I didn’t know them before and am really enjoying getting to know them.

It is such a relief to get this out again. I got 3000 words done tonight so if I can do the same tomorrow I will be caught up. It is a good feeling. But even if I don’t I want to finish this story. I am not sure if its really worthy of a novel but some parts are turning out better than I expected. Maybe I will turn it into a short story afterwards. I do not feel that I really have enough content to carry the reader for a full novel. After all the 50,000 words is going to be a lot of fluff. I can see that already. But I am learning and growing in this.

Though I have noticed that my regular writing has gone down hill somewhat. In the beginning of this blog I would write and edit and…well…care. But now I just write as if this were a journal. A journal that others read. I don’t suppose these are good habits to be forming. But don’t worry, after the holidays are over I will get back to actually working at my craft, not just punching out stuff. Though there is quite an advantage to this as well. It is helping me learn how to keep up with a certain amount of writing a day. Plus I am learning to take a small idea and stretch it into a good portion of content, where before it wouldn’t be enough for a sentence. In some cases this is fluff but in other cases it is developing the idea and creating plot out of it.

Well it is now 30 minutes after midnight and I need to sleep. Good night fellow wrimos! I am still in the running!

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

Leave a Reply

