RSS Feed

Strong Starts With Hopes To Finish

Nano has begun. I am rather nervous about this because since I decided to do Nano some things have happened in my world that have made me wonder if I should even be attempting Nano. For those who follow me regularly you know that I had to quit doing the 31 Days of Humility due to some issues with my grandmother’s health.

As a side note things are still not settled with my grandmother. She is doing well but keeps having some issues that the doctors are trying to figure out.

If I couldn’t keep up a post that had no constraints on how long it needed to be how am I going to write 2000 words a day? I tend to set high goals for myself and then crash when the reality of life hits. Plus I have had in the past 48 hours two people tell me to be careful not to take on too much. Everything with my grandmother, I am leaving for El Salvador again in 24 days, and the business of the season as well as the business at work…all of this adds up to the fact that I should probably listen to their advice and try again next year.

But something in me doesn’t want to give up without even trying. So I am going to try but I will also do my very best to keep a realistic perspective and as soon as it begins to feel like something I have to do instead of want to do then I will back off and either let it go or just not plan to hit 50,000 words.

So I have begun. I wrote a good 2700 words already and am quickly realizing that this is going to be difficult. I thought I had a good story line to keep it going, as well as an outline, but according to my outline I need to write another 3300 words before I can move the story on to the next phase. That just might not happen. And one of my characters is already misbehaving. She is supposed to be the bad guy but she keeps ducking out of the story every chance she gets. Its rather annoying. She is leaving my main character stranded out there all by herself.

I am also breaking all the writing rules. Over the past several weeks I have been reading lots of tips and tricks on how to structure stories, how to create good plots, how to carry a story etc. Yup, all that has flown out the window and my character is her own worst enemy, I have no hook at all in my first 2700 words and the only conflict that I have created is internal. My character is drowning in self doubt and its spilling over into my world. How can I keep the conflict without making my plot disappear?

So, I may get to 4000 words and realize this is just a no go. We will take it one day at a time. Meanwhile, I must sleep.

Goodnight fellow wrimos. As for the rest of you, see you in December…or maybe next week. Who knows. Anything can happen in Nano November.

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

Leave a Reply

