RSS Feed

Wednesday Web Sitings

There is so much information out there for planting and growing things, be it from seed or seedling, indoors or outdoors, edible or pretty. However the first thing you might need to know is what zone you are in. There are several different zoning systems in the United States. I typically use the USDA zoning for no other reason than that is what my dad uses. I am familiar with it and so I stick with what I know. Here are some sites for finding out your zone:

USDA Plant Hardiness Map
Climate Zones
A Good Site For Alternatives To USDA

Granted I am posting this in a season where there is not much planting going on but depending on the year and the location you might still be able to squeeze in a few plants before the snow flies (if snow flies in your area). Most gardening calendars are based on zone and you can search for gardening calendar and your zone number to find them. But the following is a good resource for all zones:

Gardener’s Almanac

Another thing you can do at this time of year is get seeds for spring. For example, squash is all over the grocery store right now. I buy several types, clean the seeds out, lay them out to dry on a paper towel and then eat the squash. Once the seeds are dry (about a week or so) I put them in a paper bag, write the name of the squash, the year, and what I liked about the squash or a good recipe on the bag. This way in the spring I am all set to plant.

Baked Squashes And Pumpkins And How To Save The Seeds
How To Save Seeds
Seed Sanctuary

Granted you might be reading this at a time of year that gardening is in full swing. If that is the case then enjoy! Explore! Be brave! Try things out, if it doesn’t work then try something different (unlike how I keep planting those sunflowers in the same exact spot!).

Related Posts:
Watching Things Grow

Plant An App And Watch It Grow

Edible Landscaping

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

Leave a Reply

