RSS Feed

Do True Pantsers Exist?

As I prepare for NaNoWriMo I have been browsing their blogs and trying to learn as much as I can. I have also downloaded an app called Novel Idea to help me get some of my thoughts down.

As a naturally unorganized person I would be more likely to be called a Pantser. Someone who flies by the seat of her pants. As opposed to a planner, someone who outlines and prepares before writing. I am actually more in between. I tend to write things down so I don’t forget, scenes, ideas, character sketches. But I started wondering if a true Pantser exists? Does anyone out there truly sit down without a clue as to what they are going to write and write it? Now obviously I am not saying that this isn’t a first draft, but to sit down and write a whole novel, or even a short story, without any prep sounds like the ultimate of brainstorming sessions to me.

So tell me, can a true Pantser exist? Or are we all an amalgamation of planning and chaos?

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

3 responses »

  1. That’s a good question. I think there could be a few of them out there. Some people do it /for/ planning purposes. They specifically sit down without a plan and wing it just to let their imaginations run wild… but an actual novel? I’m not sure. I’m the type to get a vague plot and run with it, but even then I still have /something/ when I start. A true pantser is a rare thing indeed, I think.

    Reply
    • I realize the definition of Pantser is probably not quite as extreme as I painted it. I would be considered a Pantser as well. Though sometimes I do a loose outline. More for the sake of not forgetting an idea before I get to that part of the story. Haha. I love the dream sanctum by the way. Still reading it.

      Reply
      • Yeah, I like to do the same. I have to have /something./ It doesn’t take too long to come up with something, but sometimes I’ll come up with something just fantastic and have to note it somewhere, because I WILL forget. >_>;’ Kind of like when I wake up from a dream: ‘I won’t write it down, I remember it vividly.’ Next morning: ‘Oh bollocks.’

        I’m glad to hear it about TDS, though. =D

Leave a Reply

