RSS Feed

Day 9

“If I construct my faith on my experience, I produce that most unscriptural type, an isolated life, my eyes fixed on my own whiteness. Beware of the piety that has no presupposition in the Atonement of The Lord. It is of no use for anything but a sequestered life; it is useless to God and a nuisance to man.” – Oswald Chambers “My Utmost for His Highest” October 9

A discussion started on yesterday’s post about humility in leaders. When a leader thinks he or she has it all together and can lead but forgets the quality of humility it creates a type of leader that is not worth following. Humility is one of the most important qualities of leading because without it you get the type of person who leads with a personal agenda, or the arrogant type who do not listen to reason. Plus, for the leader themselves it sets them up to be humbled by God and that is not the most comfortable places to be.

We must continually remind ourselves of the Atonement of The Lord. We must continually remember that our whiteness is because of Christ. The more we forget this the more we have the type of piety that Oswald describes above, the piety that focuses on piety for piety’s sake.

Oh Lord that I might humble myself under Your mighty hand, that you won’t have to, that I might always remember it is only through You and Your Son that I even exist, much less accomplish anything. That I might be humbled, and stay humble, and bring glory to Your Name.

Previous Posts:
Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

Day 4

Day 5

Day 6

Day 7

Day 8

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

Leave a Reply

