RSS Feed

This Old Maid Doesn’t Clean

She watches over the ways of her household,
And does not eat the bread of idleness.
Proverbs 31:27

We have already explored the second half of this verse by looking at time management ideas. This week we will focus on the first half of this verse, specifically in the area of housework.

I realize that at this point I have probably lost at least half of my readers but for the rest of you, hear me out, my goal is not to create guilt trips but to just share tips and tricks that I have picked up along the way.

Don’t get me wrong, I do not live in a spotless house, I am by no means considered a clean freak and I am never accused of being neat and organized. And yet I probably have more resources on cleaning and organization than anyone I know. Why? Because I struggle with it. I am constantly on the lookout for anything that will help.

My first tip and my own personal first step is to make a plan. I always work better if I tackle things in little pieces and when I make a plan. So here is my cleaning schedule for the week:

Monday: Pick up Living, Dining, and Kitchen areas
Tuesday: Sweep floors
Wednesday: Night off
Thursday: Pick up Bedroom
Friday: Clean Bathroom
Saturday: Vacuum rugs and furniture

You have to think realistically when making these types of lists. What days are you busier or more tired? What days do you have more time or energy? And make the list attainable. What is the minimum that would make you feel comfortable if someone dropped by? If you are a clean freak change that question to what is the minimum that would make you feel comfortable so that when you have relax time you actually relax. I am not saying to only do the minimum, but make your plan accordingly so that if you are able to do more its even better, but if you aren’t at least you accomplished that much.

Too often we plan for our ideal. We strive for our end result in the beginning, give it some time. Make up a plan once a week and get to where you are following it before you start to add more to your plate. You will find the encouragement you get from accomplishing your goals will give you motivation to keep adding to them to start seeing even more results.

Related Posts:
Clean Up Your App

We Have A Web Siting!

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

2 responses »

  1. Your plan seems simple enough. Of course it’s more easier to follow if there isn’t someone you have to clean up after all the time!

    Reply
    • This is very true! While I wish I could offer great advice out there for those who do have someone to pick up after, I simply do not have the experience. But there are plenty of resources. Most cleaning sites focus on moms and those with spouses can try to work out a plan together (unless your spouse doesn’t help, then I would suggest reading the advice for moms :)). The difficult thing is those who are married, with kids, and work full time. You are my heroes. I do not know how you can do it all.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

