RSS Feed

My Boys

“…he want to the?” he read questioningly.

“he went” my dad corrected.

“he went to the house.” he continued.

These are the sounds that are warming my heart right now as I type this. With sounds off in the distance of the house of another child reading to my mom.

This will be the last time this happens with these particular boys and it reminds me so much of a similar time several years ago. At that time I was still living at home and we had the opportunity to get temporary guardianship of two boys while their dad got back on his feet. I was in college but was with the boys the most as my college schedule was easier to work around than my parents work schedule. For four months I was a mom. I got to get them up and ready for school, to pack lunches, to do homework, to have beach days, and all of those wonderful joys. At the end of four months the boys went back. Eventually it became a good thing but at first they were going back to a hard situation and my heart broke. I felt like I had allowed children that I had loved like my own to go into a bad situation. But they were in God’s hands and He worked in it.

Two different boys and several years later I am not living at home so I have not been an active role, more of an observer. These boys also are going back to their father but this situation is good. They are going to a healthier environment and will do well, I pray. But the lesson is the same. God loves these boys more than we ever could and He will watch over them.

It brings joy to my heart to know that my parents have had this opportunity once again. They definitely have blessed these kids and the two other kids. I pray that if I am ever given the opportunity I will be as willing to pour into kids with so much love even when I know it will be a temporary situation.

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

2 responses »

  1. I had forgotten how much I love teaching a child to read. With an open hand and tears running down my face, I give these two precious children into Your hands, Lord.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

