RSS Feed

Con Azucar

El Salvadorian sugar for my coffee

It might be considered sacrilege to have a coffee picture posted on this site but if you think so then you don’t know me. It is possible to be both a tea and a coffee snob. Ok, I am not really a snob when it comes to coffee but I do like myself a good cuppa every now and then.

This picture shows some of the most amazing sugar ever…or at least its better than what I normally buy at the regular grocery store. Its sugar from El Salvador. I bought a couple pounds of it for about $1.

In El Salvador, in spite of the fact that it was ridiculously hot, we would still have coffee every morning. I am allergic to milk so I usually drink mine black when I do not have a non-dairy creamer on hand. I am not a huge fan of black coffee with sugar, I prefer either cream and sugar or simply black. But in El Salvador all that changes. I drink coffee with sugar every morning. In spite of the heat. I sweat through it because its that good. Some days they would have ice, then I would make and iced coffee which was heavenly.

Pastor Pat making coffee in El Salvador

This kettle is the largest I have ever seen. We used this for our coffee. We would pour the grounds right into that kettle full of boiling water and let it steep for 4 minutes then we would simply pour ourselves a cup. The grounds would settle nicely at the bottom. Well…mostly settle. You always had a little bit of sludge at the bottom of your mug when you were finished.

The bag of sugar was one of my best souvenirs that I ever bought there. In fact I plan to buy more when I return, I might even buy some as Christmas presents. I was very proud of myself for thinking of this idea on my previous trip. I could not wait to come home and have some of my El Salvador style sugar in black coffee. I was feeling so nostalgic, missing all my family in El Salvador. I brewed the coffee, I put the sugar in, I took that excited first sip…

It wasn’t the same.

I haven’t quite put my finger on the difference but there is a difference. The sugar itself is great. I think my brand of coffee is different. Perhaps its the fact that I am not drinking it out of a giant kettle with the grounds still loosely floating around. Or maybe I need to run hot water in the bathroom for ten minutes and take my cup in there and sweat while I drink it. That must be it. I am missing the heat and the humidity.

Excuse me, I have to go put some coffee grounds in my mug and turn on the shower.

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

Leave a Reply

