RSS Feed

Baked Squashes and Pumpkins and How To Save the Seeds

Today’s recipe is a side dish. I love this recipe because it yields quite a bit, can be used as a side dish or dessert and is super easy to make.

Squash of any sort.

I have tried Acorn Squash recently which tasted a lot like Sugar Pumpkin (the small ones for baking) to me. Tonight I made a Kabocha Squash, which looks like a little green pumpkin and is super sweet. The best part about squash and pumpkins is that you get seeds with the food, if you like them you can save the seeds to plant next year. The recipe is as follows, with instructions on saving the seeds.

Serves: 4-8
Prep: 2 minutes
Cook: 40 minutes

Half or quarter the squash or pumpkin. Scoop out the seeds and set aside and the stringy insides. Its ok to scrape some of the flesh off with the string, but its also ok if you don’t get all of the stringy, just get as much as you can. This part is more about texture than anything else. It will taste fine with a little bit of stringiness but you may not like the texture.

At this point you have several options, you can brush the food with oil or butter, you can place flesh side down in an inch of water, or you can just leave it as is.

Put in the oven at 400 degrees for about 40 minutes.

Now you have some more options, if it is a Kabocha Squash you can eat everything at this point, including the skin. There may be other squashes with edible skin but I am not aware of these yet. But any squash or pumpkin will taste nice just as is out of the oven.

You can also sprinkle with salt and pepper and eat. Or for a sweeter flavor you can add sugar and eat.

I took an Acorn Squash and scraped all the flesh into a bowl, added a little bit of milk, a dab of butter and sugar and blended. It was a delightful treat at the end of a long day.

20120917-124350.jpg

As for the seeds it is simple, place in a sieve and rinse. Work off as much of the stringy fleshy stuff as possible and then place on a paper towel and pat dry. Leave these in a dry dark place for several weeks to dry. I live in a very dry area so it doesn’t actually take several weeks. Once they seem dry you can place in a ziplock or a container but I suggest not sealing them until it has been a few weeks. Then, depending on your zone and when it is best to plant squash, you can put them in the ground next year and have squash and/or pumpkin for free!

My plan this year is to buy every type of squash I see and I am tasting them, writing notes, and marking the ziplocks accordingly. That way next year when I grow them I know what I want to grow and why.

Related Posts:
Plan To Salivate

One Pan Chicken Dinner

APPlying What We Have Learned

Lemon Pepper Poultry

Modern Hunting

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

One response »

  1. Pingback: From Florida on up…calabasa!!! | healingthymeproducts

Leave a Reply

