RSS Feed

A Pointless Post About Home Grown Tea

20120917-110849.jpg

It occurred to me, while sitting here drinking a cup of home grown Lemon Balm Spearmint tea, reading freshly pressed, that I haven’t actually posted about tea in a while.

I steeped it in one of those teapots that has the strainer basket inside the pot. Every time I use this I end up getting up at least three times in the night to go to the bathroom. For some reason I feel I must drink the entire pot that night. Either that or the tea is so good I can’t stop until its gone.

What makes my tea so good? Well I am so glad you asked…I grow it myself. Its not a true tea, its a tisane, which is simply a fancy word for saying herbal tea. I started something last year and it has become a slight obsession for me. It is called edible landscaping and I have now gotten the bug. I do not plant anything unless I can eat it, steep it, or bake it and then eat it. I am not sure why this fascinates me so much other than the wonderful satisfaction I get from eating, drinking, and cooking with food that I have grown myself. That and fresh food is crazy good.

So, back to the tea, I planted quite a few Lemon Balm plants this year, along with some Lemon Thyme, Lavender, and Jasmine. I prefer Lemon Balm over Lemon Verbana simply because I have compared the flavors and I do not care for Lemon Verbana…I have no explanation beyond that so don’t ask.

Every now and then I will cut a bunch of clippings of these plants and dry them. They are producing enough leaves to let me have a nice supply all through winter. But in the summer, mostly, I will use fresh. Tonight I used dried leaves, however, because I was being lazy tonight. I like being lazy sometimes.

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

Leave a Reply

