RSS Feed

DIY Week

She stretches out her hands to the distaff,
And her hand holds the spindle. Proverbs 31:19

This verse always makes me think of Sleeping Beauty. As if an early version of the fairy tale would follow the above lines with, “then she falls asleep.”

This week my focus is going to be on DIY, or Do It Yourself, projects. There are many reasons to have DIY projects, the first would be to save money. In most cases doing or making something yourself is much more cost efficient. However, there are other cases where it can be more expensive, so make sure you do your research first if you plan to do this for money saving purposes.

These projects also give us a sense of satisfaction and the pride of having done something yourself. This is no small feat and can help with many emotional areas as well as keeps us busy, while having fun (usually its fun…do your homework first).

Finally these projects are educational. Now I am assuming many of my readers are adults and so we do not often care if something has educational value when thinking of ourselves. But remember for a moment the joy of understanding, of discovery, the part of learning that is enjoyable…that is what we are looking for.

DIY can be anything from fixing a broken garage door to making laundry soap from scratch, to making homemade Christmas decorations. It can be anything that you enjoy doing. It can have a specific purpose or can be for the simple reason of enjoyment (i.e. the leaky pipe would be a specific purpose, but the Christmas decorations can simply be for fun).

This week I will be posting some of my own DIY projects and resources. More to come!

Related Posts:
How To Shut Your Garage

Today’s Harvest

What Started It All

What Do You Need

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

Leave a Reply

