RSS Feed

Bucket List

The following was actually first posted August 30, 2012 but due moving my blog it is getting reported today.

Tomorrow I fulfill something that has been in my do-before-I-die list for as long as I can remember. Watching the Olympics in my house growing up was a big to do. Every four years our schedules would get turned upside down so we could center our free time around the television. Now just to give you an idea of how big this was to us I need to explain that when I was three my parents made a counter cultural move…they got rid of the television. We would watch VHS videos on a computer monitor when it was allowed but we were raised with a love of reading and playing outside.

This meant that every four years my mom would pull out a little 12 inch black and white tv that we kept In a closet, solely for the purpose of the Olympics. We had horrible reception so it was grainy, and the sound quality left a lot to be desired. In spite of all of this, every time the national anthem was sang I always stood up to listen. I cried most of the time, even as a child, to hear the beautiful words of our country sang so beautifully, and I wanted to create that same feeling in other people. I wanted to sing the national anthem in a large venue.

Tomorrow I will be singing, with my friend, the national anthem in front of anywhere from 100-500 people. It is a city wide event so the amount coming is only a guess. But tomorrow is that moment that I will get the honor of standing and singing and, I pray, invoking the wonderful feelings of patriotism and how blessed we are as a country into other peoples hearts. And yet, I am terrified. I won’t back down, I have to do this because everything in me wants to, but I am terrified. How are you supposed to feel on the day you fulfill a bucket list item and are doing something that many people fear more than death? I will post tomorrow and let you know.

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

Leave a Reply

