RSS Feed

An Amateur Tea Snob’s Disclaimer

It all began with a young teen’s desire for money. That is fairly common, you become and age where making money outside of pleading and begging it off of your parents is a possibility. It was my first job. I was cleaning and babysitting for a woman a couple of days a week. The one area that she told me not to worry about dusting was her collection of teacups. That was, as far as I can remember, my first fascination with tea things.

She had an amazing collection. Larger cups, tiny dainty cups, exotic cups, typical cups. Always just one teacup with saucer. No two were alike. And she had hundreds (at least my exaggerated memory remembers hundreds, perhaps it was dozens).

I do recall having another fascination with miniature tea sets as well. I am not sure what started this one, perhaps it was The Little Princesss. In there they describe a tea set that was used for Emily’s doll that was a real working tea set. It must have been this because I was picky with my miniature sets. The teapot had to work. It couldn’t just be tiny, it had to actually have a hollowed out inside and a spout that poured.

These are my early memories along my journey of becoming a tea snob. This journey, however, has been much like tea reminds us to be, slow, taking it all in, enjoying every moment, which leads me to my disclaimer…I am still on my journey, I am still learning all the benefits, all the amazing flavors, all the intricasies of the leaf.

About looseleafbri

How do you explain yourself in a short paragraph. What should I talk about? My love for Jesus? The fact that I am fascinated with tea and all that comes along with it? Should I explain that I am single? How do I capture my life in such a brief moment and still make it sound interesting?

Leave a Reply

